Main content

First Nations Communities Read 2022

First Nations Communities Read (FNCR) is an annual reading program launched in 2003 by the First Nations public library community in Ontario. The program is designed to encourage family literacy, and promote the voices of indigenous authors, illustrators, and publishers. Learn more from the FNCR website.

  • Auteur:
    McIvor, Bruce
    Sommaire:

    Faced with a constant stream of news reports of standoffs and confrontations, Canada's "reconciliation project" has obviously gone off the rails. In this series of concise and thoughtful essays, lawyer and historian Bruce McIvor...

  • Auteur:
    Bailey, Oster
    Sommaire:

    This book is a collection of stories about culture, history, and nationhood as told by Métis women. The Métis are known by many names — Otipemisiwak, "the people who own ourselves;" Bois Brules, "Burnt Wood;" Apeetogosan, "half...

  • Auteur:
    Dunning, Norma
    Sommaire:

    Drawing on both lived experience and cultural memory, Norma Dunning brings together six powerful new short stories centred on modern-day Inuk characters in Tainna. Ranging from homeless to extravagantly wealthy, from spiritual to jaded...

  • Auteur:
    Robertson, David A.
    Sommaire:

    Narnia meets traditional Indigenous stories of the sky and constellations in an epic middle-grade fantasy series from award-winning author David Robertson.
    Morgan and Eli, two Indigenous children forced away from their families...

  • Auteur:
    Han, Becky
    Sommaire:

    When the narrator of this fun and silly book is startled by the buzzing of a bee, she sets off on an adventure that sees her running from community to community, trying to lose her buzzing companion. When she has run clear across...

  • Auteur:
    Kelly, Masiana
    Sommaire:

    Thomas loves to tell stories. Big stories. Stories about how skilled he is on the land. But when one of his friends grows tired of his tall tales, Thomas has to prove how skilled he really is. Taking the challenge to spend a night alone...

  • Auteur:
    Huson, Brett D.
    Sommaire:

    "To the Gitxsan of Northwestern British Columbia, Nox Ga'naaw is a storyteller, speaking truths of the universe. When Nox Ga'naaw, the frog mother, releases her eggs among the aquatic plants of a pond, the tiny tadpoles are left to fend...

  • Auteur:
    Robertson, David
    Sommaire:

    In this second book in the Narnia-inspired Indigenous middle-grade fantasy series, Eli and Morgan travel back to Misewa, only to realize they've travelled back farther than expected. At school, Eli is being bullied, and while he tries...

  • Auteur:
    Pésémapéo Bordeleau, Virginia
    Sommaire:

    "The first erotic novel written by an Indigenous woman in French-available for the first time in English. In The Lover, the Lake, Virginia Pesemapeo Bordeleau crafts a spellbinding, sensual love story, as a response to the stereotypical...

  • Auteur:
    Dumont, Dawn
    Sommaire:

    "The hilarious story of an unlikely group of Indigenous dancers who find themselves thrown together on a performance tour of Europe. The Tour is all prepared. The Prairie Chicken dance troupe is all set for a fifteen-day trek through...

  • Auteur:
    Kunuk, Zacharias
    Sommaire:

    . . . tells the story of a young shaman in training who must face her first test--a trip to the underground to visit Kannaaluk, The One Below, who holds the answers to why a community member has become ill. Facing dark spirits and...

  • Auteur:
    Vermette, Katherena
    Sommaire:

    From the bestselling author of The Break comes a staggering intergenerational saga that explores how connected we are, even when we're no longer together—even when we"re forced apart. Cedar has nearly forgotten what her family looks...

  • Auteur:
    Donovan, Natasha, Huson, Brett D.
    Sommaire:

    "In the fifth book of the Mothers of Xsan series, award-winning author Hetxw'ms Gyetxw (Brett D. Huson) introduces young readers to a pack of grey wolves. New pups have just begun to open their eyes, one of which is a striking black...

  • Auteur:
    Armstrong, Juliana
    Sommaire:

    It's been said when teachings are passed down from one generation to the next, good things can happen. Language is learned, knowledge is shared and culture is practiced. In this story of language preservation, author/illustrator and...

  • Auteur:
    Ansloos, Shezza, Ansloos, Jeffrey Paul
    Sommaire:

    When the world gets too loud and chaotic, a young boy's grandfather helps him listen with wonder instead. Kids laughing, sneakers squeaking, balls bouncing--for Thunder, the sounds of the school day often brew into overwhelming noise...

  • Auteur:
    Craft, Aimée
    Sommaire:

    The first treaty that was made was between the earth and the sky. It was an agreement to work together. We build all of our treaties on that original treaty. On the banks of the river that have been Mishomis's home his whole life, he...

  • Auteur:
    Boan, Selina
    Sommaire:

    Selina Boan's debut poetry collection, Undoing Hours, considers the various ways we undo, inherit, reclaim and (re)learn. Boan's poems emphasize sound and breath; they tell stories of meeting family, of experiencing love and heartbreak...

  • Auteur:
    Wente, Jesse
    Sommaire:

    One of Canada's most prominent Indigenous voices uncovers the lies Canada tells itself and the power of narrative to prioritize truth over comfort. Jesse Wente remembers the exact moment he realized that he was a certain kind of Indian...

  • Auteur:
    Kinew, Wab
    Sommaire:

    An Indigenous teen girl caught is between two worlds both real and virtual in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series. Bugz is caught between two...

  • Auteur:
    Flett, Julie
    Sommaire:

    From Julie Flett, the beloved author and illustrator of Birdsong, comes a joyous new book about playtime for babies, toddlers, and kids up to age 7. Animals and kids love to play! This wonderful book celebrates playtime and the...

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - First Nations Communities Read 2022