Main content

We measure the earth with our bodies : a novel

Available Formats:

Details:

  • Contributor: Vijayasingham, Asha
    Edition: Unabridged
    Date:
    Created
    2022
    Summary:

    2022 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist - 2022 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize - Longlist 2022 Toronto Book Awards Longlist - For readers of Homegoing and The Boat People , a compelling and profound debut novel about a Tibetan family's journey through exile. In the wake of China's invasion of Tibet throughout the 1950s, Lhamo and her sister, Tenkyi, arrive at a refugee camp on the border of Nepal, having survived the dangerous journey across the Himalayas into exile when so many others did not. As Lhamo—haunted by the loss of her homeland and her mother, the village oracle—tries to rebuild a life amid a shattered community, hope arrives in the form of a young man named Samphel and his uncle, who brings with him the ancient statue of the Nameless Saint, a relic long rumoured to vanish and reappear in times of need.      Decades later, the sisters are separated, and Tenkyi is living with Lhamo's daughter, Dolma, in Toronto's Parkdale neighbourhood. While Tenkyi works as a cleaner and struggles with traumatic memories, Dolma vies for a place as a scholar of Tibetan Studies. But when Dolma comes across the Nameless Saint in a collector's vault, she must decide what she is willing to do for her community, even if it means risking her dreams.      Breathtaking in scope and powerfully intimate, We Measure the Earth with Our Bodies is a gorgeously written meditation on colonization, displacement, and the lengths we'll go to remain connected to our families and ancestral lands. Told through the lives of four people over fifty years, this beautifully lyrical debut novel provides a nuanced portrait of the world of Tibetan exiles.

    Original Publisher: New York, McClelland & Stewart
    Language(s): English
    ISBN: 9780771004001
    Collection(s)/Series: Scotiabank Giller Prize 2022