Main content

Poetry

  • Author:
    Elliott Clarke, George
    Summary:

    I take Liberties-poetic-and take license to relate her story in her voice, to tell history. Who she was-as I hear her say or sing. [...] But still you will come face-to-face with a "Portia," whose life outshines all brilliance this...

  • Author:
    Plamondon, Louis-Thomas
    Summary:

    La poésie de Louis-Thomas Plamondon marque un temps d'arrêt de beauté et d'existence. Les portages de Louis-Thomas Plamondon, à pas feutrés dans le brouillard, les plaines et les sentiers de branches, dissimulent des moments de...

  • Author:
    Timpane, John, Watts, Maureen
    Summary:

    Sometimes it seems like there are as many definitions of poetry as there are poems. Coleridge defined poetry as “the best words in the best order.” St. Augustine called it “the Devil’s wine.” For Shelley, poetry was “the record of the...

  • Author:
    Verlaine, Paul
    Summary:

    Alongside Baudelaire, Mallarmé, and Rimbaud, with whom he had a stormy relationship, Paul Verlaine is one of the most influential poets of the fin de siècle. He was one of the greatest representatives of the Decadent movement that...

  • Author:
    Saadi, Yusuf
    Summary:

    Pluviophile veers through various poetic visions and traditions in search of the sacred within and beyond language. Its poems continually revitalize form, imagery and sonancy to reconsider the ways we value language, beauty and body....

  • Author:
    Kuhn, Madisen
    Summary:

    Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur. Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen...

  • Author:
    Perry, Tyler B.
    Summary:

    Anyone who has been through school in the past half-century has experienced poetry in the form of the multiple-choice reading comprehension test. Tyler Perry's latest collection engages in dialogic, deconstructive play with this...

  • Author:
    Arima, Phlip
    Summary:

    Pin Pricks is a collection of deceptively simple poems and aphorisms, each of which expresses an understanding of what it means to be human in this high-tech, global age. The poems leap from urban first world concerns to third world...

  • Author:
    Clarke, Alison
    Summary:

    "These poems reach through time to tell the remarkable story of Phillis Wheatley, the first African-American woman to publish a book of poetry, and who did so while she was enslaved. Phillis Wheatley was the first African American to...

  • Author:
    Milton, John
    Summary:

    Paradise Lost is the first epic of English literature written in the classical style. John Milton saw himself as the intellectual heir of Homer, Virgil, and Dante, and sought to create a work of art which fully represented the most...

  • Author:
    Sze, Gillian
    Summary:

    In Panicle, Gillian Sze makes her readers look and, more importantly, look again. It's a collection that challenges our notion of seeing as a passive or automatic activity by asking us to question the process of...

  • Author:
    Boraks-Nemetz, Lillian
    Summary:

    This collection offers a cycle of poems about the poet who, as a child survivor of the Warsaw Ghetto, has had to live with the memories of the Holocaust all her life. The first section describes the evils of suffering and prejudice, of...

  • Author:
    Kuusisto, Stephen
    Summary:
  • Author:
    Liem, Tess
    Summary:

    In Obits. a speaker tries and fails to write obituaries for those whose memorials are missing, those who are represented only as statistics. She considers victims of mass deaths, fictional characters, and her own aunt, asking what does...

  • Author:
    Chang, Victoria
    Summary:

    After her mother died, poet Victoria Chang refused to write elegies. Rather, she distilled her grief during a feverish two weeks by writing scores of poetic obituaries for all she lost in the world. InObit, Chang writes of "the way...

  • Author:
    Désy, Jean
    Summary:

    Une méditation sur la mort, la vie et l'amour. Résumé Mourir. Malgré la vie. Malgré la joie. Mourir. Peut-être renaître un jour. Conte-poème au pays des Inuits et des coureurs de froid. Accueilli et soigné au Nunavik, l'...

  • Author:
    Kooji, Laura
    Summary:

    Poems that explore the author's vision and First Nations roots.

  • Author:
    Levenson, Christopher
    Summary:

    The title Night Vision refers firstly to the night vision goggles that enable soldiers to see through the darkness in order to destroy and kill, and secondly to a vision of the political and ecological night that threatens humankind,...

  • Author:
    Fuhr, Laurie
    Summary:

    These poems capture the ways of the great Canadian military brat, vanishing points, flights, and gothic perceptions. Shortlisted for the Robert Kroetsch award for experimental poetry, these poems contain the rhythm of a musician and the...

  • Author:
    Dawe, Tom
    Summary:

    ***CANADA BOOK AWARD WINNER***For almost fifty years, Tom Dawe has stood as one of the most respected and admired poets in Newfoundland. This definitive, necessary collection spans five decades of poetic achievement, reprinting each of...

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Poetry