Main content

Below : Broken sky chronicles # 1

Available Formats:


  • Author: Chabot, Jason

    In Jason Chabot’s brilliant debut, fantasy and futuristic worlds collide—literally.

    The first of three volumes in this thrilling trilogy opens on the barren plains of Below, where a teenage boy named Hokk lives in exile with his fox sidekick, Nym, amid the remnants of our modern age.

    On the floating islands in the skies of Above, the islands’ edges are borders no one dares cross until the ritual burials that send their dead to Below. Here Elia toils in endless drudgery until the day she discovers a mystery swirling around her family’s past. But before she can unravel the secrets, a series of natural disasters rumble through Above, bringing both worlds—and Hokk and Elia—ever closer, until the day the earth crumbles below Elia’s feet and she falls.

    When Hokk rescues the strange girl who miraculously survives her plunge into the sea, he realizes she might be the key to finally ending his banishment. Both teens are desperate to return to the homes they’ve lost, and their journey together will propel them across endless plains, through shattered cities and into mirrored palaces in a centuries-old battle for the very earth and sky around them.

    Original Publisher: [S.l.]:HarperCollins Canada,2014
    Language(s): English
    ISBN: 9781443407816
    Collection(s)/Series: Young Adult | Young Adult