Main content

A call to conscience : the landmark speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Available Formats:


  • Contributor: OneClick Digital (Firm); Shepard, Kris; Young, Andrew; King, Coretta Scott; Sullivan, Leon H.; Fauntroy, Walter E.; King, Yolanda; Height, Dorothy I.; Shuttlesworth, Fred; Lewis, John; McGovern, George; Kennedy, Edward M.
    Edition: Unabridged ed.

    His speeches stirred a generation to change - and outlined a practical way to economic freedom and true democracy. His words would help bring about the end of a brutally unequal system - and would show a timeless method for achieving fairness and justice for all.
    These 12 moving speeches voiced by Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. are original recordings collected here for the first time ever. In addition, some of the world's most renowned leaders and theologians share with you their reflections on these speeches, and give priceless firsthand testimony on the events that inspired their delivery.
    This audio takes you behind the scenes on an astonishing spoken historical journey - from a small, crowded church in Montgomery, AL, where "The Birth of a New Nation" ignited the modern civil rights movement; to the center of the nation's conscience; to the Mason Temple in Memphis, where more than 10,000 people heard Dr. King give his last transcendent speech, "I've Been to the Mountaintop", the night before his assassination.
    Narrators include Andrew Young, Coretta Scott King, Reverend Leon H. Sullivan, Hon. Walter E. Fauntroy, Yolanda King, Dr. Dorothy I. Height, Rev. Fred Shuttlesworth, Martin Luther King III, Rep. John Lewis, Ambassador George McGovern, and Sen. Edward M. Kennedy.

    • Introduction (written and read by Andrew Young)
    • The address to the first Montgomery Improvement Association (MIA) mass meeting (introduction written by Rosa Louise Parks and read by Mrs. Coretta Scott King)
    • The birth of a new nation (introduction written and read by Reverend Leon H. Sullivan)
    • Give us the ballot (introduction written and read by the Honorable Walter E. Fauntroy)
    • Address at the Freedom Hall rally in Cobo Hall (Introduction written by Aretha and Erma Franklin and read by Yolanda King)
    • I have a dream (introduction written and read by Dr. Dorothy I. Height)
    • Eulogy for the young victims of the Sixteenth Street Baptist Church bombing (introduction written and read by the Reverend Fred Shuttlesworth)
    • Acceptance address for the Nobel Peace Prize (introduction written by His Holiness the Dalai Lama and read by Martin Luther King III)
    • Address at the conclusion of the Selma to Montgomery march (introduction written and read by Representative John Lewis)
    • Beyond Vietnam (introduction written and read by Ambassador George McGovern)
    • Where do we go from here? (introduction written and read by Senator Edward M. Kennedy)
    • I've been to the mountaintop (introduction written and read by Andrew Young).
    Original Publisher: New York, [Prince Frederick, Md.], Intellectual Properties Management, Inc. in association with Warner Books, [Distributed by] OneClick Digital
    Language(s): English
    ISBN: 9781600249914