Main content

The Crash Palace

Available Formats:

  • Accessibility:
    • Customizable display
    • Described images
    • Heading navigation
    • ​Print page numbers
    • Table of contents navigation
    Publisher:
    Coach House Books, 2021
    Note: This book was purchased with support from the Government of Canada's Social Development Partnerships Program - Disability Component.

Details:

  • Date:
    Created
    2021
    Summary:

    Selling Points for The Crash Palace:The author's previous book, The Milk Chicken Bomb, was longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and was shortlisted for the Amazon/Books in Canada First Novel Award.For fans of Willy Vlautin and Miriam Toews.Author is a musician and songwriter in the indie rock groups Hot Little Rocket and Night Committee, touring extensively and releasing seven full-length albums over the last two decades. The Crash Palacedraws on his own experience being a touring musician.Reviews for The Milk Chicken Bomb:'The Milk Chicken Bomb is pure 10-year-old charm; the prose jumps off the page, it sparkles.' — Colleen Gillis, Broken Pencil'Wedderburn's prose has an alluringly musical style [...] Wedderburn leaves it up to us to devise our stories and figure out our own answers, adding to the book's overall charm and mystique.' — Quill & Quire'Marvin is filled with quirky characters and Wedderburn paints them clearly and colourfully, giving each a depth and uniqueness that makes The Milk Chicken Bomban engaging read. [...] It's the combination of comic moments and unique characters that make this book successful. While the narrator remains aloof, the town, its inhabitants and their sometimes strange activities are thrown into sharp relief, making The Milk Chicken Bomba fun read and a poignant look at life in the prairies.' — Aneka Rao, Rabble.ca.

    Subject(s): Coming of age | Fiction | Literary
    Original Publisher: [Place of publication not identified], Coach House Books
    Language(s): English
    ISBN: 9781770566255, 1770566252