Main content

Governor General's Literary Awards 2023

Canada Council for the Arts / Governor General Literary Awards Logo

The full list of finalists and information about the GG's and Canada Council for the Arts can be found on the Governor General's Literary Awards website. It has been a pleasure to work with the Canada Council for the Arts to bring you the 2023 winners in accessible formats. As they have in previous years, the Council granted us early access to the winners' list, which made it possible for us to have them here for you today.

Governor General’s Literary Awards are given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language book in each of seven categories:

  • Fiction
  • Literary Non-fiction
  • Poetry
  • Drama
  • Young People’s Literature (Text)
  • Young People’s Literature (Illustrated Books)
  • Translation (from French to English, and English to French).

Check out some of the 2023 finalists below!!

More titles will be added to this collection over the coming month, so feel free to check back to see what has been included. While we cannot produce all longlisted titles, we encourage you to request the ones you would like to read, in whatever format you need. To access our request form, log into your NNELS account and search for the book you want; if you cannot find it, look for the link to the title request form above the filters on any page of search results.

For more great Canadian reading, please check out the winners and nominees from 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 and 2022.


Subscribe to RSS - Governor General's Literary Awards 2023