Main content

Leacock Medal 2021

The Leacock Medal for Humour is an annual award for Canadian humour writing. For more information about the award, please visit the Leacock Associates website.

  • Author:
    Graham, Randal, Bhaneja, Raoul
    Summary:

    For fans of Douglas Adams, Terry Pratchett, and P.G. Wodehouse. Where do you go after you die? Detroit. Something's rotten in the afterlife. At least that's how it seems to Rhinnick Feynman, the one man who perceives that someone in the...

  • Author:
    Leiren-Young, Mark
    Summary:

    Joey Brant needs to have a bar mitzvah immediately. Like, next Tuesday. Except he’s not thirteen, the usual age for the Jewish milestone. He’s in his sixties. A task he thinks he could quickly cross off his to-do list becomes a deep...

  • Author:
    Murray, Morgan
    Summary:

    "The narrative voice in Dirty Birdsreminds me a bit of the dry comic you find reading The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, only this unfortunate protagonist, named Milton Ontario, (not to be confused with Milton, Ontario) journeys from...

  • Author:
    Reva, Maria
    Summary:

    "Bright, funny, satirical and relevant... . A new talent to watch"—Margaret Atwood "These immersive linked stories grapple with Ukrainian history through the waning years of the USSR and birth pangs of democracy...Reva's characters...

  • Author:
    King, Thomas
    Summary:

    Meet Bird and Mimi. The brilliant new novel from one of Canada's foremost authors. Inspired by a handful of old postcards, sent by Uncle Lenny nearly a hundred years before, Bird and Mimi attempt to trace the steps of Mimi's long-lost...

  • Author:
    Kertes, Joseph
    Summary:

    How can you say goodbye forever when you've left an important secret unspoken? "I'll tell you what I'm going to do," Zoltan said. "When I die, I'll leave my luck to you." Zoltan Beck is dying. His devoted but long-suffering sons, Ben...

  • Author:
    Enfield, Tyler
    Summary:

    "Like Francis Blackstone is a fourteen-year-old gunslinger with a heart of gold. He’s fallen for the mayor’s daughter and resolves to make his mark, and his fortune, to win her favor. And what better way than to rob a Manhattan Company...

Subscribe to RSS - Leacock Medal 2021