Main content

Small cities

  • Author:
    Lapointe, Annette
    Summary:

    Finalist, ReLit Award. Finalist, McNally Robinson Book of the Year (Manitoba Book Awards). Finalist, Bisexual Book Award (USA).

    Whitetail Shooting Gallery, a new novel from award-winning author and Giller Prize nominee, Annette...

  • Author:
    Flynn, Robert
    Summary:

    When the new highway being constructed avoids Wanderer Springs, the town is left to wither in the dust. Will Callaghan, back for a funeral, remembers the town's sometimes funny, sometimes paintul past, including the time he cost his...

  • Author:
    Macomber, Debbie
    Summary:

    L’été est une saison importante pour le gîte de Jo Marie Rose. Mark Taylor et elle ont passé beaucoup de temps ensemble pour aménager au mieux ce lieu paradisiaque. Et même si la jeune femme essaie de se persuader que Mark n’est qu’un...

  • Author:
    Blanchard, Alice
    Summary:

    A riveting mystery that introduces a bold and audacious rookie detective assigned to hunt for a killer who is haunted by the past in this gripping murder case. Natalie Lockhart always knew she was going to be a cop. A rookie detective...

  • Author:
    Geni, Abby
    Summary:

    Caught up in the charismatic thrall of her recently returned brother, Tucker, nine-year-old Cora agrees to accompany him on a cross-country mission to make war on human civilization.

  • Author:
    Kuipers, Melissa
    Summary:

    Original, witty, and subtle, these stories feature characters who must navigate life in a small town, and will appeal to fans of Miriam Toews and Kathleen Winter. This collection of beautifully crafted short stories features complex...

  • Author:
    Patterson, James
    Summary:

    Once a luxurious southern getaway on a rustic lake, then reduced to a dilapidated crash pad, the Summer House is now the grisly scene of a nighttime mass murder. Eyewitnesses point to four Army Rangers—known as the Night Ninjas—recently...

  • Author:
    Strong, Aline Sandra
    Summary:

    In The Point, a small-town lawyer is struggling to keep his practise going in spite of his wife’s outrageous behaviour. But shortly after he takes on an urgent brief for a member of a prominent Canadian family, he and his devoted nurse...

  • Author:
    Taylor, Gene
    Summary:

    When Everett Coleman’s longtime enemy JB Sanderson dies, Everett’s nephew Blake comes to visit his uncle. He worries JB’s death might have a negative effect on the old man, despite Everett and JB’s very public hatred for each other....

  • Author:
    Carr, Robyn
    Summary:

    Devon McAllister flees danger with her daughter and ends up in Thunder Point, Oregon, where she meets widowed father Spencer Lawson, a man who can teach her about safety and stability.

  • Author:
    Ashby, Carter
    Summary:

    He never expected to find a home. She never expected to find love. When Rye Holcomb arrives in town, it’s with a chip on his shoulder and the certainty that he and his brother will never fit in. Even after landing a job with McKay...

  • Author:
    Connolly, John
    Summary:

    New York Times bestselling author John Connolly brings his "visionary brand of neo-noir" (The Irish Times) to this "riveting and chilling" (San Francisco Examiner) Charlie Parker thriller about new secrets buried and...

  • Author:
    Wingate, Lisa
    Summary:

    The associate producer of TV's hottest show fears Amber Amberson's tiny Texas hometown already knows its Amber is an American Megastar finalist. But after several hilarious culture clashes, the Hollywood pro enlists the help of the...

  • Author:
    Woods, Sherryl
    Summary:

    Emotionally wounded single mom Sarah Price has come home to Serenity, South Carolina, for a fresh start. With support from her two best friends -- the newest generation of the Sweet Magnolias -- she can face any crisis. But sometimes a...

  • Author:
    Livesay, Tracey
    Summary:

    Tracey Livesay delivers the first novel in her sexy new series about lifelong friends and unforgettable love stories. When everything is on the line, surrendering completely to love is your only choice. Marketing manager Caila Harris...

  • Author:
    Fielding, Tia
    Summary:

    For thirty-five-year-old writer Frank Hudson and his partner of fourteen years, the spark is dead, and it’s time to move on. Frank sets his sights on a sleepy town in Vermont, where he plans to start over in peace and quiet—plans that...

  • Author:
    Stamper, Phil
    Summary:

    Jake is just starting to enjoy life as his school's first openly gay kid. While his family and friends are accepting and supportive, the same can't be said about everyone in their small town.

  • Author:
    Walmsley, Christopher, Kading, Terry
    Summary:

    Small Canadian cities confront serious social issues as a result of the neoliberal economic restructuring practiced by both federal and provincial governments since the 1980s. Drastic spending reductions and ongoing restraint in social...

  • Author:
    Giles, W. Mark
    Summary:

    Finalist for the Amazon.ca First Novel Award.

    Dwight Eliot was born on a baseball diamond in the small town of Seep during a dugout-clearing brawl between his hometown team, The Seep Selects, and a visiting team of barnstorming...

  • Author:
    Carr, Robyn
    Summary:

    Determined to escape distractions and avoid the holiday season, Kaylee borrows a cabin in Virgin River. She knows the isolation will help her writing, and as she drives north through the mountains and the majestic redwoods, she...

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Small cities