Main content

Governor General's Literary Awards 2023


Congratulations to the 2023 Governor General’s Literary Award nominees! The full list of nominees, past winners and information about the GG's and Canada Council for the Arts can be found on the Governor General's Literary Awards website. It has been a pleasure to work with the Canada Council for the Arts to bring you the nominees and winners in accessible formats. As they have in previous years, the Council granted us early access to the nominees list, which we are busy producing.

Governor General’s Literary Awards are given annually to the best English-language and the best French-language book in each of seven categories:

  • Fiction
  • Literary Non-fiction
  • Poetry
  • Drama
  • Young People’s Literature (Text)
  • Young People’s Literature (Illustrated Books)
  • Translation (from French to English, and English to French).

Check out past years finalists below!!

More titles will be added to this collection over the coming month, so feel free to check back to see what has been included. While we cannot produce all longlisted titles, we encourage you to request the ones you would like to read, in whatever format you need. To access our request form, log into your NNELS account and search for the book you want; if you cannot find it, look for the link to the title request form above the filters on any page of search results.

For more great Canadian reading, please check out the winners and nominees from 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 20192020, 2021 and 2022.