Main content

World Braille Day

In celebration of World Braille Day, Braille Literacy Canada (BLC), the Canadian Council of the Blind (CCB), the CNIB Foundation, the Centre for Equitable Library Access (CELA), the National Network for Equitable Library Service (NNELS), and the Provincial Resource Centre for the Visually Impaired (PRCVI) are organizing a series of online events.

This celebration of braille is open to people of all ages who are curious about braille, either practically, professionally, or somewhere in between! Target audiences include all braille readers, library staff, and educators. The celebration will be conducted virtually on Zoom.

All sessions (excluding any live Q&A) will be recorded and posted publicly after the series of events has concluded. Even if you're unable to attend, please register to receive an email notification when the recordings are available.

For more information about this series of events, please contact braille@nnels.ca

Looking Through the Crystal Ball: Innovations in Braille Technology for the 21st Century and Beyond

This session has already taken place. Please find the Looking Through the Crystal Ball webinar recording on Braille Literacy Canada's YouTube Channel.

Building Braille Inclusion in Libraries

Thursday, January 13, 2022

10 am Pacific / 11 am Mountain / 12 noon Central / 1 pm Eastern / 2 pm Atlantic / 2:30 pm NST

Register online by Monday, January 10, 2022

Session length: 90 minutes

Description: This event will begin with a live reading of a print-braille book. We will then explore strategies for libraries to create inclusive programs such as storytime, story boxes or literature kits, STEAM programming, makerspaces, 3D printing, games, and accessible book clubs. A live demonstration of a refreshable braille display will be followed by a discussion of which digital content in your library can be accessed using this type of assistive technology. Information on how libraries and braille users can access braille resources from services such as CELA, NNELS, and BAnQ, as well as a question-and-answer period, will conclude the event.

Target Audience: Librarians and library staff; Library users, including families. Everyone is welcome.

Language of Delivery: English

Tools for Your Toolbox: Braille Resources for French Speakers of All Ages

Thursday, January 20, 2022

10 am Pacific / 11 am Mountain / 12 noon Central / 1 pm Eastern / 2 pm Atlantic / 2:30 pm NST

Register online by Monday, January 17, 2022

Session length: 90 minutes

Description: Are you a TVI, an educator, or a parent of a braille reader? Have you been searching for books and other braille-related resources in French? In honour of World Braille Day, we invite you to this workshop, which will focus on resources for French speakers across the country. Whether you are looking for educational material, leisure reading or games, or you just want to learn the basics of the braille code, it can be a challenge to find these resources in French. Come and join us to learn what is available and how you can access it.

Target Audience: TVIs and members of students’ educational teams.

Language of Delivery: French

Refreshing and Rethinking Braille Awareness Presentations with a Focus on Equity and Accessibility

Thursday, January 27, 2022

10 am Pacific / 11 am Mountain / 12 noon Central / 1 pm Eastern / 2 pm Atlantic / 2:30 pm NST

Register online by Monday, January 24, 2022

Session length: 90 minutes

Description: This session will emphasize both braille awareness activities and the importance of braille in accessible design. Strategies will focus on the process of co-designing a classroom or community-based presentation with braille users. TVIs and members of students’ educational teams will learn a variety of methods to introduce the braille code to classroom audiences as well as strategies for engaging students in a broader conversation around accessibility, equity, and inclusion at school and in their communities.

Target Audience: While the session is geared to educators, students who read braille are also welcome to attend!

Language of Delivery: English