Main content

Writing the terrain

Formats disponibles :


  • Date:

    Take a trip through Alberta with some of Canada's finest established and emerging poets as your guides. Writing the Terrain: Travelling Through Alberta with the Poets is the first anthology dedicated solely to the poetry of the Alberta landscape and cityscape, by authors who have travelled the main roads, back roads, and gravel roads of this vast province. This collection offers a series of poetic journeys through Calgary and Edmonton, through the foothills, the badlands, the Rockies, the central parklands, and the northern boreal forests. Following in the Canadian literary tradition of "preoccupation with place" these are poems that demonstrate a response to the landscape and ponder its effect on the body, mind, and spirit. With Contributions By: Ian Adam Tammy Armstrong Margaret Avison Douglas Barbour John O. Barton Doug Beardsley BonnieBishop E.D. Blodgett Robert Boates George Bowering Tim Bowling Jan Boydol Gordon Burles Murdoch Burnett Anne Campbell Weyman Chan Leonard Cohen Dennis Cooley Joan Crate Michael Cullen Cyril Dabydeen Lorne Daniel Alexa DeWiel Jason Dewinetz Ryan Fitzpatrick Cecelia Frey Gary Geddes Gail Ghai Deborah Godin Jim Green Leslie Greentree Vivian Hansen Tom Henihan Michael Henry Walter Hildebrandt Gerald Hill Robert Hilles Nancy Holmes Richard Hornsey Tom Howe Bruce Hunter Aislinn Hunter Laurence Hutchman Sally Ito Pauline Johnson Aleksei Kazuk Robert Kroetsch Fiona Lam William Latta Tim Lilburn Alice Major Kim Maltman Miriam Mandel Sid Marty David McFadden Barry McKinnon Erin Michie Deborah Miller Anna Mioduchowska James M. Moir Colin Morton Erin Moure Charles Noble P.K. Page Rajinderpal Pal Ruth Roach Pierson Joseph Pivato Roberta Rees D.C. Reid Monty Reid r. rickey Ken Rivard Stephen Scobie Allan Serafino Joan Shillington Greg Simison Carol Ann Sokoloff Karen Solie Robert Stamp Stephan Stephansson Peter Stevens Ivan Sundal Anne Swannell Vanna Tessier Colleen Thibadeau John O. Thompson James M. Thurgood Eva Tihanyi Yvonne Trainer Aritha van Herk Rosalee van Stelten Miriam Waddington Wilfred Watson James Wreford Watson Tom Wayman Phyllis Webb Jon Whyte Christine Wiesenthal Sheri-D Wilson Christopher Wiseman Stacie Wolfer Rita Wong Richard Woollatt Jan Zwicky

    Original Publisher: University Of Calgary Press
    Language(s): English
    ISBN: 9781552384824
    Collection(s)/Series: Read Alberta Ebooks