Main content

Classic fiction

  • Auteur:
    Conrad, Joseph
    Sommaire:

    This is the story of a young man unwittingly caught in the political turmoil of pre-revolutionary czarist Russia. When a bomb kills a hated Russian minister of police, along with several innocent bystanders, a young student named Razumov hides the perpetrator, who questions his moral strength and integrity.

  • Auteur:
    Conrad, Joseph
    Sommaire:

    The tale of a mortally ill man on a homeward bound ship and the effect he has on his ship mates.

  • Auteur:
    Bernhardt, Sarah
    Sommaire:

    Fifteen-year-old Esperance Darbois, the only daughter of philosophy professor François Darbois, is determined to become an actor, though her family insists it will sully their reputation and harm her marriage prospects.

  • Auteur:
    Baldwin, James
    Sommaire:

    Between Leo Proudhammer's childhood and his arrival into the world of the theater lies a wilderness of desire and loss, shame and rage. There are love affairs with both a man and a woman. And everywhere exists the anguish of being black in a society nearing total racial war.

  • Auteur:
    Austen, Jane
    Sommaire:

    In the vein of Downton Abbey, Jane Austen's beloved but unfinished masterpiece-often considered her most modern and exciting novel-gets a spectacular second act in this tie-in to a major new limited television series. Written only months before Austen's death in 1817, Sanditon tells the story of the joyously impulsive, spirited and unconventional Charlotte Heywood and her spiky relationship with the humorous, charming (and slightly wild!) Sidney Parker. When a chance accident transports her from her rural hometown of Willingden to the would-be coastal resort of the eponymous title, it exposes Charlotte to the intrigues and dalliances of a seaside town on the make, and the characters whose fortunes depend on its commercial success. The twists and turns of the plot, which takes viewers from the West Indies to the rotting alleys of London, exposes the hidden agendas of each character and sees Charlotte discover herself...And ultimately find love.

  • Auteur:
    Burgess, Thornton W.
    Sommaire:

    The adventures of Peter Rabbit, Johnny Chuck, Reddy Fox, the Merry Little Breezes, and all their companions in the fields, the woods, and the streams.

  • Auteur:
    Hugo, Victor
    Sommaire:

    Hugo's last novel about 1793, the year of the guillotine in France, captures the moment that shaped the destiny not only of France but of all European monarchy.

  • Auteur:
    Momaday, N. Scott
    Sommaire:

    A young Native American, Abel has come home from war to find himself caught between two worlds. The first is the world of his grandfather's, wedding him to the rhythm of the seasons, the harsh beauty of the land, and the ancient rites and traditions of his people. But the other world--modern, industrial America--pulls at Abel, demanding his loyalty, claiming his soul, and goading him into a destructive, compulsive cycle of depravity and disgust.

  • Auteur:
    Chute, B.J.
    Sommaire:

    In Greenwillow, B.J. Chute has woven a tale of loyalty, love and humor into a timeless classic. Set in the whimsical town of Greenwillow, Chute’s characters are eccentric and irresistible—there is sweet Dorie who bakes bilberry tarts and dreams of a happy ending; the cow that kneels down at Christmas; two Reverends battling over good and evil—and Gideon, who loves the land with a passion we can only envy. Chute has an extraordinary gift for using words in an usual way that lends character to her descriptions and gives her writing an entirely unique voice. Her language is lyrical and utterly delightful. Perhaps B.J. Chute's best-known novel, a critic described Greenwillow as "a deeply moving, gently humorous and serenely wise story of young love and self-discovery." Greenwillow was brought to the Broadway stage in 1960, starring Anthony Perkins, with book by Lesser Samuels and Frank Loesser, and music and lyrics by Frank Loesser.

  • Auteur:
    Shelley, Mary, von Holst, Theodor
    Sommaire:

    Victor Frankenstein is consumed by his desire to discover the secrets of life. After several years of research, Victor feverishly constructs a man out of old body parts and brings him to life. Victor is immediately horrified by his ambitious creation, and flees his apartment in remorse. The newborn monster disappears from Frankenstein's laboratory and enters the world as an outcast, struggling with his own identity. What follows is a gripping tale of murder, injustice, and revenge. Since 1818 Frankenstein has been associated with scientists who are consumed with their experiments, and oblivious to the repercussions. Among them are the brains behind the nuclear arms race, scientists who create super bacteria, and laboratories that experiment with artificial black holes. But most notably is the area of science devoted to gene manipulation, both in genetically modified foods and human cloning. Frankenstein has much to teach us in a world where we constantly test the limits of science and human ambition.

  • Auteur:
    Sommaire:

    The materials of the following collection have been carefully chosen from more than a hundred volumes of the fairy lore of all nations; and none of them, so far as the Editor was aware, had been previously translated into English.

  • Auteur:
    Haynes, Natalie
    Sommaire:

    From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it allthis novel tells the stories of the women whose lives, loves, and rivalries were forever altered by the Trojan War.

  • Auteur:
    Verne, Jules
    Sommaire:

    French professor Pierre Aronnax and his servant join the Abraham Lincoln, an American frigate, on a mission to find and destroy a "sea-unicorn of colossal dimensions, armed not with a halberd, but with a real spur, as the armored frigates." The undersea monster is thought to be responsible for the disappearance of over 200 ships. When they encounter the "gigantic cetacean," it disables the Abraham Lincoln and knocks Professor Aronnax, his servant, and the hot-tempered harpooner Ned Land overboard. The three must cling to the beast or drown; however, they soon realize that the "beast" is really a man-made underwater vehicle. Captain Nemo captures the men and holds them prisoner on the Nautilus, his incredible submarine. The captain and his unwilling passengers thus embark on a deep-sea odyssey that stretches from the palm-strewn Indian Ocean to the frozen peril of the South Pole. But the enigmatic Nemo has a darker purpose for his voyage: revenge on humanity. Not just a suspense-ridden drama, this classic novel, written in 1873, predicts with astonishing accuracy the advanced technology and inventions of the twentieth century, and it has inspired generations of science fiction writers.

Subscribe to RSS - Classic fiction